The American Kennel Club recognises two sizes of Dachshund; Standard and Miniature. In Europe, a Toy variety known as a kaninchen, which means rabbit in German, is also recognised. The breed is unofficially named tweenie when its size falls between standard and miniature.


The Dachshund was developed in Germany in the 17th century and was bred to hunt small game like badgers and rabbits. Dachs is the German word for badger and the Dachshund’s small legs allows it to hunt and follow animals into burrows where it can fight with the prey and kill it. A smaller variation was breed to hunt stoats and this breed is fearless and has also been known to fight otters and foxes. Although the number of Dachshunds decreased during World War I, a large number of dogs were imported to the USA from Germany to increase the gene pool and the breed was recognised by the American Kennel Club in 1885.

Body Type

The three types of Dachshunds are wirehaired, shorthaired...

Read more about the Dachshund description of breed...

The latest videos

Most recent championships


    The latest breeds

    Last added

    read on

    Most visited dogs